Organ Mallets

Organ: church music director Professor Rolf Schweizer (Freiburg) / cathetral organist Rainer Selle (Schleswig) / Michael Eckerle (Pforzheim)
Marimba,vibraphone: Roland Härdtner

The label „Organ Mallets“ stands for a series of concerts where Roland Härdtner plays together with different organists exclusively in churches. Besides almost all „Classic Mallets play Bach“ arrangements there are works by Georg Friedrich Händel, Joseph Haydn, Harald Heilmann and Rolf Schweizer in this repertoire. Combined with the orchestral multitude of a church organ with its big organ-stop and the unique conditions of a church room the mallet instruments develop a very special sound effect. Especially the vibraphone creates sometimes the impression to the audience like a „played by the angels“ organ-stop. This tonally balanced and harmonising combination of instruments enables fascinating church music concerts of with a special character.

Press review:

Works (selection):

  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Konzert für Violine Nr.1 a-Moll BWV 1041
  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Italienisches Konzert F-Dur BWV 971
  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Konzert für Oboe und Violine d-Moll BWV 1060
  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Ouvertüre Nr.2 h-Moll BWV 1067
  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Choral Befiehl du deine Wege BWV 244
  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Choral Jesus bleibet meine Freude BWV 147
  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Choral Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme
  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Choral Eine feste Burg ist unser Gott
  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Choral Der Leib zwar in der Erden BWV 161
  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Allegro aus der Sonate C-Dur BWV 1033
  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Air aus der Ouvertüre D-Dur BWV 1068
  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Siciliano aus der Sonate G-Dur BWV 1031
  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Inventionen Nr.1 und Nr.13 BWV 772 und 784
  • Georg Friedrich Händel: Sonate für Violine Nr.3 F-Dur
  • Louis Vierne: Carillon de Westminster op.54 Nr.6 aus Pièces de Fantaisie
  • Ney Rosauro: Concerto for Marimba and String Orchestra
  • Andreas Willscher: Concertino für Orgel und Schlagwerk
  • Harald Heilmann: Invocation für Vibraphon und Orgel
  • Harald Heilmann: Consolation für Vibraphon und Orgel
  • Marcel Dupré: Poeme Héroique
  • Rolf Schweizer: Klage und Hoffnung